Skip to content

Bobby’s Post E3 Impressions

June 16, 2010

By Bobby Holt

We are just one day removed from both Nintendo and Sony’s press conferences which mark the last day of conferences from the big three.  After taking a few hours to digest everything, I’m going to give you a quick run down of big games that I can’t wait to play, things to look for and just some things I found interesting, all in a nice bullet format.

  • Microsoft showed more casual games than Nintendo, I don’t think anyone would have seen that coming.
  • Halo Reach looks like more Halo, but is that really a bad a thing?  They showed a demo from the campaign which definitely looked grander in scale but gave me that warm fuzzy Halo feeling inside.  Day one purchase for me, even if the game only came with multiplayer, it would be worth it.
  • Black Ops was what kicked off the show for Microsoft on Monday and there’s not much to say.  It looks like a Call of Duty game, in Vietnam.  If they can fix the stupid glitches from Modern Warfare 2 and add a spice to make the game different, once again it will be a day one purchase.
  • Gears of War 3 continued with the trend and showed 4 player c0-op with new enemies and finally showed off the Pendulum Wars lancer, which seemed to have a bit of a kick.  However, once again it was just more of the same.  I wish I could say that it didn’t look awesome and I wouldn’t be buying it (for my wallet), but it did and I will be, probably at a midnight launch.  Damn you Cole Train for being so awesome.
  • Fable III was briefly talked about and a short trailer was shown by Peter Molyneux.  Not much was given away, however an October 26th release date was announced.  I am going to be spending way too much money this fall.
  • One trend that held true during Microsoft’s press conference in the beginning, was relying on AAA games and their more recent addition to the series.  No new games were shown for the first 30 minutes.  Of course, introducing a Halo, Gears and Fable game is also not a terrible start to a press conference.
  • However, the final hour of their press conference was very Kinect (Natal) based.  Frankly, it bored me.  A release date was given, but no pricing.  After seeing Playstation Move, Kinect is in trouble.
  • Let me reiterate that for everyone who thinks I’m a Xbox fanboy.  Move>Kinect.
  • A new Xbox was announced that would finally include Wi-Fi (way to go Microsoft, only a few years late), a 250 GB hard drive and a much smaller, sleeker, form factor. All for $299.  You know that Elite you just bought the other day because another one of your consoles Red Ringed?  Well, sucks for you.
  • Assassins Creed 2: Brotherhood was also shown, not that I needed to see anything on the game, I would still blindly buy it since my love of assassins and their lore.  Anyway, their cinematic movie was excellent, as per usual, and once again reminded me that I needed to save money already.  Ezio is back and he’s coming out this November 16th. Day one.
  • Onto Nintendo who pulled at my retro gaming memories and heartstrings with their announcements.  First off, they started with Legend of Zelda (and honestly, that could have been enough for me), which is now named Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword.  Despite the controls acting up due to wireless interference, the art direction and style looked fantastic.  The sword striking and many other motions are now one to one due to the Wii Motion Plus, which is required to be used.  The only disappointing thing was the release date.  Which is sometime next year.  Bummer, but at least I won’t have to spend more money.
  • Oh wait, Nintendo announced Donkey Kong Country: Revisited coming this Holiday season.  Just when I thought I didn’t have to spend anymore money.  It looked like Donkey Kong Country, side scrolling with updated graphics.  I nearly jumped for joy when I heard the music playing.
  • Just Dance 2 was announced and for all those people who played Just Dance one, I’m sure they are happy.  Sure, why not.
  • Mario Sports Mix, which combines Volleyball, Dodgeball, Hockey and Basketball in one game will be released next year, and surely will sell a billion copies.
  • Probably the best announcement at the show was the 3DS.  I went from not really caring for the device, to wanting one, now.  Check out our article for more information on the handheld.
  • Kid Icarus is back, and I am so happy about that.  Paper Mario 3D and Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D were also announced.  Nintendo was not messing around this year.
  • Going back to their roots was the best thing Nintendo could have possibly done and they did it, really well.
  • Now, onto Sony.  Playstation Move looked fantastic and the pricing made it even better.  $99 bucks for a complete bundle of each controller and camera.  Day one.
  • They demoed Tiger Woods Golf 2011 with the device and I have to say, I was impressed.  I play golf, a lot.  Being able to hit a fade or a draw in a video game, by moving the club face through the swing, is amazing.  That could be my must have game for the Move.
  • Killzone 3 made an appearance with a live demo, which also looked fantastic.
  • Aiming still looked floaty, but what can you do.
  • Dead Space 2 was back, showing more of the same.  It will sell.
  • Portal 2 was announced at the Sony conference, but the big unveil was not that impressive.  Sure the game was, but Sony’s deal with them, not so much.  Cross chat with people on Steam.  Not that big of a deal.
  • Finally, Twisted Metal is back and even more of a clusterfuck than before.  Like seriously, the game had so much shit going on, my head hurt just trying to watch it.  When they were going over a game type, it honesty took then 10 minutes just to explain how to win.  No game type should take that long to explain.  Watch me explain most game types in under 15 seconds each.  Team Deathmatch-kill everyone.  Capture the Flag-capture the enemy flag.  Territories/Domination/King of the Hill-stay in the area the longest to get the most points.  Done, easy as that.
  • Epic Mickey was there and I must say it did look interesting, but time will tell to see if the game is more than just a gimmick.

Well that’s it, all the games that stood out to me as something worth mentioning.  Start saving your money now because these next months look like a great time to be a gamer.  I don’t even want to think of what my credit card bill will look like.

Stay tuned for our roundtable discussion of all the E3 events sometime this week.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

